SFT Canada Tour Update!

It’s been a whirlwind month at Students for a Free Canada. His Holiness the Dalai Lama’s visit to Canada took me across the country and back and I wanted to share some highlights from the tour with you.

7931_294568165462_227855645462_9269398_176979_n

My first stop was in Vancouver where I met with students from the University of British Columbia, Simon Frasier University, and the University of Victoria. We tabled at both His Holiness’s public talks and spoke to dozens of students about Tibet and SFT.

My next stop was Calgary where I joined SFT Calgary members who ran a very succesful booth at the the Calgary Saddledome where His Holiness was warmly received. SFT Canada’s merchandise sold like hot-cakes!

Last but not least, I made my way back east to Montreal where we set up information tables at His Holiness’s public talk at the Montreal Bell Centre. SFT Montreal introduced our new line of French t-shirts and bilingual brochures which were widely popular. Successful fundraisers in support of SFT Canada’s important work for Tibet were hosted by both SFT Montreal and SFT Calgary.

It goes without saying that it’s always an incredibly inspiring and humbling experience to hear His Holiness the Dalai Lama speak. I’m also so happy to have met SFTers from across Canada – their passion for Tibet and commitment to SFT was felt in every city I traveled to.

I want to take this opportunity to thank all the volunteers who helped on the tour and every single SFT supporter I met along the way.

7931_294568190462_227855645462_9269401_2379527_n

We collected hundreds of petitions calling for the release of Tibetan filmmaker Dhondup Wangchen, sold lots of SFT merchandise, and most importantly, many people told me about how energized and inspired they were by SFT’s creativity and far-sighted vision for Tibet freedom.

In hope, Tenzin Lobsang and everyone at SFT Canada

P.S. If you would like to support our work for Tibet in Canada, please donate today! Even the smallest gift makes a difference.

Leave a Reply

